VOTES & PROCEEDINGS OF THE FIFTEENTH PARLIAMENT No. 14

First Sitting of the Third Meeting Firday, 8th August 2003

10.00 a.m.

- 1. The House met at 10 a.m. pursuant to a resolution made on 13th June 2003.
- 2. The Hon. F. Ribauw, M.P., Speaker of Parliament, took the Chair and read Prayers.

3. Leave Sought for

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) sought leave of the House to make a motion. Leave was not granted.

4. Motion to Suspend Standing Orders

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) moved that all relevant standing orders be suspended to enable him to move his motion.

Mr. Botelanga (Meneng) seconded.

Question put and negatived.

5. Division of the House Called for

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) and Mr. Botelanga (Meneng) called for division. The House divided.

AYES		NOES	
Mr. Harris	Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Scotty	Dr. Keke
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Botelanga	Mr. Adeang	Mr. Akua
Mr. Detenamo	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Kun
Mr. Adam	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Waqa	
Mr. Stephen	Mr. Thoma		
TOTAL - 10		TOTAL - 7	

Question put and passed.

6. **Motion**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) moved the following motion -

"That pursuant to Article 24 of the Constitution, and Standing Order 97, that the President and Ministers be removed from office on the grounds that this House has no confidence in the Cabinet."

Mr. Botelanga (Meneng), Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan), Mr. Adam (Buada), and Mr. Detenamo (Buada) stood to support the motion.

President Ludwig Scotty did not accept the motion.

The question on whether the motion should be entertained by the House was put and negatived.

7. Division of the House Called for

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) and Mr. Botelanga (Meneng) called for division. The House divided.

AYES		NOES	
Mr. Harris	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Scotty	Dr. Keke
Mr. Thoma	Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Kun
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Detenamo	Mr. Waqa	Mr. Adeang
Mr. Adam	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Akua	
Mr. Gioura	Mr. Thwona		
TOTAL - 10		TO	TAL - 7

Question put and passed.

The Speaker suspended the sitting and to resume when the bell rings. **Resumed.**

8. Letter of Resignation

The Clerk of Parliament announced that he had received a letter of resignation from the Speaker, which reads as follows -

:Mr. Clerk, I hereby tender my resignation as Speaker of Parliament effective forthwith." (Signed) Fabian Ribauw, Speaker 08/08/03.

The Deputy Speaker, Hon. Nimrod Botelanga, M.P., was called upon to preside over the sitting.

9. **Election of Speaker**

The Deputy Speaker called for nominations to fill the vacancy in the Office of Speaker.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Botelanga (Meneng) to be Speaker.

Mr. Namaduk (Ewa/Anetan) seconded.

Mr. Botelanga accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Mr. Botelanga was declared Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

10. Election of Deputy Speaker

The Speaker called for nominations to fill the vacancy in the Office of the Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Namaduk (Ewa/Anetan) nominated Mr. Adam (Buada) to be Deputy Speaker.

Mr. Stephen (Ewa/Anetan) seconded.

Mr. Adam accepted the nomination.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Mr. Adam was declared Deputy Speaker of the Fifteenth Parliament.

11, The motion moved by Mr. Harris (Aiwo) was put before the House.

12. **Motion**

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) moved that the question be put.

Question put and passed.

13. Division of the House Called for

Dr. Keke (Yaren) and Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) called for division.

The House divided.

AYES NOES

Mr. Harris	Mr. Thoma	Mr. Scotty	Mr. Adeang
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Waqa
Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Adam	Mr. Kun	Dr. Keke
Mr. Detenamo	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Akua	Mr. Ribauw

Mr. Ekwona

TOTAL - 9 TOTAL - 8

Question put and passed.

14. **Motion**

The question, on the motion pursuant to Article 24, was put and passed.

15. Division of the House Called for

Dr. Keke (Yaren) and Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) called for division. The House divided.

AYES		NOES	
Mr. Harris	Mr. Thoma	Mr. Scotty	Mr. Adeang
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Detenamo	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Kun
Mr. Adam	Mr. Stephen	Mr. Waqa	Dr. Keke
Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Akua	Mr. Ribauw
Mr. Ekwona			
TOTAL	0	TOTAI	0

TOTAL - 9 TOTAL - 8

Question put and passed.

The Speaker then suspended the sitting, to resume when the bell rings.

16. Election of President

The Speaker called for nominations to fill the vacancy in the Office of the President of the Republic.

Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) nominated Mr. Harris (Aiwo) to be President.

Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) seconded.

Mr. Harris accepted the nomination.

Mr. Jeremiah (Meneng) nominated Mr. Scotty (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) to be President.

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Scotty accepted the nomination.

Mr. Akua (Anabar/Ijuw/Anibare) nominated Mr. Gioura (Ubenide) to be President.

Mr. Kun (Ubenide) seconded.

Mr. Gioura declined the nomination.

There being more than one nomination, election of President was conducted by secret ballot.

Results - Mr. Harris - 9 votes Mr. Scotty - 8 votes

Mr. Harris (Aiwo) was declared President of the Republic of Nauru.

17. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency Rene Harris, M.P. moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until a time and date to be fixed by the Chair.

Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) seconded.

Question put and passed.

18. Adjournment

His Excellency the President moved that the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

19. **Motion**

His Excellency the President moved that the question be put.

Mr. Thoma (Aiwo) seconded.

Question put and passed.

20. Division of the House Called for

Mr. Adeang (Ubenide) and Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) called for division. The House divided.

\mathbf{AY}	ES	NOES	
Mr. Harris	Mr. Thoma	Mr. Scotty	Mr. Adeang
Mr. Stephen	Mr. Namaduk	Mr. Ribauw	Mr. Jeremiah
Mr. Clodumar	Mr. Gioura	Dr. Keke	Mr. Kun
Mr. Detenamo	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Akua	Mr. Waqa
Mr. Adam			
TOTAL ·	. 9	TOTAL	- 8
•			

Question put and passed.

And then the House at twenty five minutes past two o'clock p.m. adjourned until a time and date to be fixed by the Chair.

Members Present

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**